[REVIEW] Foundation/BB Cream samples

While organizing my stash of skincare and makeup samples, I realized I had a couple foundation and BB cream samples I’d never really paid much attention to since I’ve got my go-to fullsize products and rarely think about replacing them unless I have something specific in mind. But I have the samples so I might as well test them out!

The three samples are:

  • Innisfree Mineral Mineral Moisture Foundation (2 shades)
  • Etude House Double Lasting Foundation (3 shades)
  • Nature Republic Super Origin Collagen BB Cream (1 shade)

So, before I show the swatches, I’ll give you a little more info on my skin tone since it’s hard to show objectively depending on lighting and camera angles.

I am quite fair with pink cool undertones, and I’ve worn the following shades of foundation:

  • NARS Sheer Glow/All Day Luminous Powder Foundation: Mont Blanc
  • IOPE Air Cushion XP: Natural Glow N21
  • Clio Kill Cover: 3 By Linen
  • The Face Shop Lovely ME:EX BB Cream (it’s ancient, I know, but if you happen to know where I could buy any if it’s still being sold…. lmk!! It was a perfect light coverage lazy bb cream and I’m nearly done my last tube…)
  • MAC Pro Longwear NC15 (I’ve never worn it fully but I have a little sample container and it matches me well)

My preferences for foundation and BB cream is light-to-medium coverage, since I take care of blemishes and color correction beforehand, and I don’t have particularly intense coverage needs. My skin is also pretty sensitive, so I prefer to wear things that aren’t strongly fragrant or too oily – also because I have combination skin that trends towards oiliness in the summer.

So, now that that’s taken care of, onto the swatches and mini-reviews!

Innisfree Mineral Mineral Moisture Foundation

IMG_9253 copywatermarkIMG_9256 copywatermarkIMG_9258 copywatermarkIMG_9260 copywatermark

So as you can see, the cooler-toned shade fits me better, but it doesn’t match me perfectly. I don’t tan very much in the summer – rather, my overall pinkness may increase – so I don’t really need a summer shade and a winter shade. This is still a bit too dark for me.

It has SPF protection and like sunscreen, it doesn’t really sink into fine lines and instead exaggerates them. It’s hard to wash off without an oil cleanser, and it leaves a tacky/greasy feel on the skin after application. And since oiliness is a concern, I waited a couple minutes for the product to settle into my skin before pressing a sheet of toilet paper to see how much transferred – which was a lot. I think that is due to the SPF content, so it’s reasonable to expect them not to have a dry matte finish. However, this does not suit my particular needs.

Etude House Double Lasting Foundation

IMG_9267 copywatermarkIMG_9265 copywatermark

Again, none of these matched my skin tone particularly well; all of these shades were a bit too warm and dark. And again, they tended to transfer pretty easily. It has a not too light but not too cloying floral fragrance, and blends into the skin slightly better than the Innisfere one, also leaves the skin a bit greasy but less so than the Innisfree one.

Nature Republic Super Origin Collagen BB Cream

IMG_9268 copywatermark

This one was the best out of the bunch! A cool pinkish beige. Still did not match perfectly (which is not super apparent from my picture here unfortunately) so not a candidate for purchase, but better than the other two. It smelled mildly of sunscreen, blended into the skin very well, had a light and runny formula, and was the most transfer-resistant and least oily of the bunch.

I hope these notes and swatches were useful to any of you! Let me know what you think ^^ Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

